Yesterday, I ran

I have always admired people that can run.  I see joggers every day, jogging on the beach or in the neighborhoods where I live.  Since I was 9 I’ve wanted to do that, and have never been able to.  As any diva will tell you, never is not in their vocabulary.  I decided I wanted to run.  And then I found a magazine that said “run a little bit, then walk, until you finish your path.  Don’t worry about looking stupid.  Concentrate on increasing the distances you run, every time you try”.  So, Sunday, February 1st, was my deadline.  I would start running.

I follow a route that is approximately 3 miles long (it is a little over 3 miles, maybe more like 3 1/2).  The first half mile I walked as a warm up.  Then I stretched my legs, and I ran.  I counted in my head to 40.  Then I walked until I recovered and ran again, counting to 50.  Again and again until I got to 80.  My goal was to run 5 times during my three mile walk, I ran 9 times.  I stopped counting after 80 because for a beginner, it is hard to count, keep a good pace and breathe all at the same time.  I loved every minute of it, I don’t care if people think I look silly.  I am a diva, silly is not in my vocabulary either.  I am running again today.  This diva wants to be able to run all 3 miles by February 28th.  Let’s see how I do.

Ayer, corrí

Siempre he admirado a los corredores.  Veo personas trotando todos los días, ya sea en la playa o en los vecindarios por donde vivo.  Desde que tengo 9 años he querido hacerlo, y nunca había podido.  Cualquier diva puede decirle que la palabra nunca no está en su vocabulario.  Decidí que quiero correr.  Encontré una revista que decía “corre un poco, luego camina, y sigue hasta que termines tu tramo.  No te preocupes si te ves ridículo.  Concéntrate en aumentar la distancia que corres, cada vez que lo intentes”.  Así que el domingo, primero de febrero, era mi meta.  Comenzaría a correr.

Sigo una ruta que mide aproximadamente tres millas (es un poco más de tres millas, tal vez 3 1/2).  La primera media milla la caminé para calentarme.  Luego hice estiramiento de piernas, y entonces corrí.  Conté para mi hasta 40.  Entonces caminé hasta recuperarme y corrí de nuevo, esta vez hasta 50.  Repetí los intentos hasta llegar a 80.  Mi objetivo era trotar cinco veces durante mi caminata de tres millas, corrí 9 veces.  Dejé de contar cuando llegué a 80 porque, para una principiante contar, mantener pisadas parejas y respirar al mismo tiempo no es tan fácil.  Me encantó, y no me importa si la gente pensaba que se veía ridículo.  Soy una diva, y la palabra ridículo tampoco está en mi vocabulario.  Voy a correr nuevamente hoy.  Esta diva quiere correr las tres millas de ese tramo para el 28 de febrero.  Vamos a ver si lo logro.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Donovan "DFitnessguy"
    Feb 02, 2009 @ 12:30:54

    I don’t think this is anything to laugh at.

    Great job on taking action and setting deadlines…you Diva you!!!

    You already beat your goal on the first day.

    Keep up the good work and let me know if I can make any suggestions or help at all.

    Donovan “DFitnessguy” Owens
    The Busy Women’s “Dream Body” Builder
    http://twitter.com/dfitnessguy

  2. admin
    Feb 02, 2009 @ 15:29:00

    Thank you Donovan. Please, by all means, any tips that you can offer will be greatly appreciated. Right now, I am about an hour again from my second “run-walk”. I am pumped.

    I will be sure to check your blog more often for even more tips.

  3. LishOripibLiz
    Jul 30, 2010 @ 02:03:17

    whats up everyone

    just signed up and wanted to say hello while I read through the posts

    hopefully this is just what im looking for looks like i have a lot to read.

  4. admin
    Jul 30, 2010 @ 11:23:23

    Welcome. We hope we can help. What are you looking for?

Leave a Reply

