Water

Drink 8 glasses a day…drin 1 liter for every 50 pounds, drink 1 glass for every 20 minutes of exercise…I don’t know about you, but my head spins every time an “expert” hands out yet another recommendation.  So what should we do?

I don’t know.  I can tell you what I do.  I drink water when I am thirsty.  Now that I quit soda, I drink when I have a craving for soda.  I drink water after every meal, when I exercise and as soon as I wake up in the morning.  I drink water all the time.  Some times, when the cravings for cigarettes come back (over 2 years ago I quit on a dare), I will drink water.  Does it kill the cravings?  Not really, but it gives me something to do and works as a pattern interrupt.

Four days ago I decided to eliminate soda out of my diet.  I walk everywhere with my water bottle.  That way I am prepared for the couple of places that do not carry water.  I am more awake and I am retaining less liquid.  My feet are back to normal size.  There are a lot of side effects from drinking water that go beyond the elimination of sugar from your diet or the elimination of toxins from your body.  Water is good for you.  And if you use filters instead of plastic bottles, it is even good for the environment.  So drink water, as much as you feel you need.  Your body will thank you.

Leave a Reply

