Water…water and then, more water

I have made comments about water before, and it bears repeating.  Drink plenty of water.  You do not drink juice or milk to survive.  If you were stranded in a deserted island with no food, you could survive on water (so long as it is not salt water) for several days.  That should give you a hint, that you need to drink water.

I don’t know about you, but if I drink soda or eat something salty, I retain water.  We have actually done unscientific tests and I have been known to carry up to 5 pounds of water weight at certain times of the month.  So, I decided to test a theory.  Yesterday, my feet looked like big lumps of clay.  And I drank water, and then more water, and to make sure, more water.  And the effects were immediate.

My feet swelled down quite noticeably.  My shoes were very tight yesterday, today, we are doing well.  So, my conclusion is simple  – water is like calories, your body is going to hold on to them so long as you starve it.  My suggestion to you – drink water (the food I will discuss at another time).  There is no better beverage for you, it has no calories, no artificial colorings or flavorings, depending on where you live, you can get it for free. 

If you want to stay healthy, you need to drink more water.  Let’s be blunt: if you go to the bathroom, are relatively healthy and have a normal diet, you tinkle and that water smells, you need to drink more water (also, if the deeper the yellow the more water you need to drink).

Now, I am not a doctor, and I have heard that there is such a thing as too much water.  I have never suffered from it.  That does not mean that if you have a condition, you should consult with your health care professional how much water to drink.  However, if you are relatively healthy, consider the possibility of drinking 1 liter per 50 pounds of body weight.  I have heard everything from an ounce per pound, 8 glasses a day, 10 glasses a day, etc.  The 1 lt. per 50 has worked wonders for me.  Drink as much water as you can and start slowly exchanging those sodas for plain cold water.  Your body will thank you.

Leave a Reply

