HONESTY in Nutrition

Since I did not post yesterday, I am combining Nutrition Thursday with Lifestyle Friday and at the same time, including this week’s topic, HONESTY.  After all, HONESTY is a lifestyle choice, and so is nutrition.  So, let’s talk about it.

You cannot be healthy if you do not make HONEST nutrition choices.  If you make smart food choices most of the time, you can indulge on anything you want in moderation.  Here is where HONESTY comes in.  I said moderation.  Moderation does not mean every time, every meal.  I’ll give you an example.  I allow myself a square of 70% Dark Chocolate with caramel (not the healthiest choice) if I include on my daily meals at least three fruits and at least three vegetables.  I love fruits, so adding three a day minimum is an easy target.  However, I am not a great cook and vegetables are harder for me to include.  So when I do, I treat myself.  If you eat healthy 80% of the time, I can indulge 20%.  That is my personal rule.

Your rule might be different.  You might not be able to indulge every day because you know your weakness for ice cream, cake, soda or whatever you consider unhealthy.  You might be able to indulge every meal because you have the capacity to eat just one M&M.  Every person is different.  You need to find what your treat is and then come up with your own rules.  You need to be HONEST with yourself.  If you want to be healthy well into old age, you want to take care of yourself and eat healthy today and every day.

Leave a Reply

