Biggest Looser as a Metaphor for Life

I have always being a fan of the NBC show The Biggest Looser. Every year, I watch in awe at the accomplishments of the contestants.

As an observer, I have always separated Biggest Looser contestants in two distinct categories: the selfless and the selfish. The selfless are those who put everyone else first. They are willing to sacrifice their own progress. They are usually emotional eaters. Those are the ones you rut for. You enjoy watching their mentality change when they finally figure out that in order to care for others, they have to take care of themselves first.

Then you have the selfish. Those are the people that are in it to win it. They don’t usually take full advantage of the experience. They don’t learn more about how to eat and how to exercise. They don’t appreciate the opportunity they are given. They always think of themselves first. They eat out of glutony and are not emotional eaters. They just want a big helping of everything in life, the rest of the world be damned. Those are the people you cheer as they get kicked out of the show.

Which one are you? Are you the kind who puts others needs ahead of your own? Are you selfish? Are you a level headed person who cares for yourself in order to be of service to others? If you only think of YOU, maybe you should rethink your priorities. If you only think of others, its time to learn. You can only care for others when your own tank is full. That is not selfish because you are not taking more than you deserve. You are making you whole and then giving the rest to others.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lara Galloway
    Feb 27, 2010 @ 17:49:22

    Totally agree, Roxana–

    One of the talks I give to Moms’ Groups is “Put the oxygen mask on yourself first.” For some reason, we moms have to be reminded that selflessness and martyrdom are not great things to model for our kids (since they aren’t good for us).

    Thanks for the post!

    Lara Galloway
    The Mom Biz Coach
    http://www.mombizcoach.com

  2. aviddiva
    Feb 28, 2010 @ 00:39:30

    Lara, this is exactly how my journey started. I was on a plane, about to turn 40 when I heard those magic words. It hit me like a ton of bricks…if I don’t put the mask on, I can’t help my daughter, or anybody else for that matter.

    Three years later, I grabbed that mask again and now I am working on my true dream, the business. Times may be tough, I am tougher.

    Thanks for the comments.

Leave a Reply

