Inspiration – Oprah

I don’t have to look up biographies for this one. There are very few people who don’t know who she is. She is so famous, you don’t need to say her last name. All you have to do is go to the Biography channel if you want the specifics. She has a great website, a show that has been on the air for more than two decades, and more money than most male millionaires in the United States.

And yet, those are not the reasons why I included her on this list. My reason is more personal and I believe it is more personal for many middle aged women like me. You see, Oprah is not perfect. She is smart, charismatic, beautiful and well read. She is also a middle aged gal struggling with her weight like many of us. The reason why I included her in this list is because she has been very open and public about her weight struggles and she does not give up.

Like many women over 40, the weight issue is not just about vanity. Once you cross 40, it becomes very obvious that if you want to enjoy your life, you have to be healthy. Weight becomes an issue for more than just looks. Weight is associated with heart disease and diabetes. Oprah has been very candid about her struggles, to the point that I wonder if the stress of shedding the pounds is not adding to the weight.

She could go the easy route, have her stomach stappled or her fat sucked out through plastic surgery. She hates exercising every morning. Yet she keeps going and showing us two things in the process:
1) It is not just about the destination, the lessons you learn during the journey are just as important.
2) No matter how many times we fall or back track, we should never give up, specially when it is a goal worth having.

That is the reason why I admire Oprah the most. She is a great role model for minorities in the US, and for women all over the world. She is obviously intelligent and has been able to take her little talk show and create a media empire. She is one of the richest people in this country. More importantly, she is a role model because she is determined. I would like to thank oprah.com for the image of Oprah used.

Thanks to oprah.com for the image

Oprah

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. vikki
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 13:53:49

    Oprah is definitely worthy of admiration…. such humble beginnings to where she is now. And I can’t even begin to think of all the things she opened our eyes to….

  2. aviddiva
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 16:38:00

    I have told a few friends that whether you like the women on this list or not, or whether you agree with them or not, their perseverance and the way they look at challenges is what makes them special in my eyes. I started with three biggies and I realize that most people recognize all three names. There are however some women on this list that are not as well known, that have challenges that could be physical, economic, developmental or others. They are a booster for me just as much as I hope they inspire others.

    When you think that Oprah says that she used to stand barefoot on the dirt path of her church preaching to passers by… and she is doing it still today. That is what I call knowing your purpose from an early age. I don’t like all of her shows and I don’t even agree with everything she says. I like that she gives us as many sides to a story as she can because that way we can decide what we like and what we don’t. I also like that she is not afraid to admit her own shortcomings, which to me, it is part of her magic. Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

