Inspiration – Rita Moreno

First, a little entertainment.

A great pride for my home country, Rita was born in Puerto Rico. Her father was a farmer and her mother a seamstress. She and her mother moved to New York when she was a small child and she took her step-father’s last name, Moreno. She is one of a handful of people to have an Oscar, an Emmy, a Grammy and a Tony.

It’s funny. As great as those accomplishments are, that is not why I admire her. In recent years, she played Vincent D’onofrio on Criminal Intent. She is still acting, still performing. She will be 80 next year. The inspiration for me comes from her resilience. It is said that when you love what you do you don’t work a day in your life. By the looks of it, she absolutely loves what she does and she gives it 100% all the time.

If you would like to learn more about Rita Moreno, you can check it out at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rita_Moreno

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gail
    Mar 12, 2010 @ 18:38:59

    Rita is a good example that when we set our sights on a goal we should not let our past or our present define who we may be in the future. I really hope that I am still able to do what I love when I’m her age.

  2. Karen
    Mar 12, 2010 @ 18:45:23

    I can only hope that I look half as good as she does at 80!

  3. aviddiva
    Mar 13, 2010 @ 01:09:27

    Isn’t it funny how people now look a lot better at 80 than younger people did 20 years ago? My dad turned 80 in December and he looks great. I think as we learn more about the power of a good diet and exercise and less stress, we are looking better. I hope I get to be that age, feeling great and still working on what I love. I think that is part of the recipe too.

  4. aviddiva
    Mar 13, 2010 @ 01:10:11

    I agree. We should all be so lucky.

Leave a Reply

