Inspiration – Maya Angelou

When I was in college, I decided to take a class in Women Studies. It was curiosity that set me up to find out about a book called “I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings”. I fell in love with the story and with the writer.

Maya Angelou has written some amazing poems and stories. She is a great example of standing up when the world throws everything at you. She has survived with grace and style. She is not happy with gossip or judgment. She is a role model for many reasons. She is a PHENOMENAL WOMAN.

I took a picture from her website that is specially significant to me. It is a picture of her reading the poem she wrote for Bill Clinton’s inauguration. The reason why it was important to me was because that was the first time I ever voted. And when you vote, it does not matter if your candidate wins or looses so much as knowing that you have the ability to go and vote for what you believe in. To have Ms. Angelou recite her own words was just a bonus.

She is an amazing woman with so much talent and a great influence on the modern woman of today. It does not matter where you are from or who you are, once you read her work you are never the same. She is most definitely an inspiration.

courtesy of mayaangelou.com

Maya Angelou

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. vikki
    Mar 13, 2010 @ 11:20:29

    I agree! She is phenomenal! I think I have read everything by her too….

  2. aviddiva
    Mar 13, 2010 @ 17:17:26

    Hey Vikki. It is funny, before I took that class in college, I did not know who she was. When the teacher started talking about her, I felt so dumb because I was the only one that did not know who she was. I was 22 and since I came from Puerto Rico, my high school did not have that book on its reading list. I have always loved to read, but I had never heard of her. And I am glad. My experience with that book was completely different from the rest of the class.

  3. Kim Reddington
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 20:16:20

    I actually don’t know much about Maya, but your post is inspiring me to look into her more. I know that I have only ever heard positive things about her. That’s rare with popular people.

  4. aviddiva
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 21:47:24

    I am glad that the post INSPIRED you to look into it. Who has been your inspiration?

  5. Kim Reddington
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 13:22:41

    My inspiration has mostly come from Tony Robbins. The amount of energy and confidence that man has is phenomenal. And despite his success, he continues to be someone who makes a huge difference in the lives that he touches. He truly seems to care.

  6. aviddiva
    Mar 17, 2010 @ 19:56:04

    At some point, I will have to make a series of inspirational people, because I choose to do women only this month. I understand where you are coming from. When I started my path, my vision of a life where I had my own thing while helping others, was when he used to sell his programs on QVC. I had seen the infomercial a couple of times, watching him on QVC gave me a lot of ideas of where I wanted to go in life and what I hoped to achieve. And talk about challenges, he became a young millionaire and lost it all, came from a very dysfunctional family, had many challenges when growing up, and look what he has achieved. Great example. Thanks, Kim.

Leave a Reply

