Inspiration – Madonna

Everybody knows Madonna. The challenge that I associate with her is her upbringing. Her mother died when she was young and I wonder if she would have been as driven to succeed had her mother been alive. It is something that stays with me.

I remember when I was 17 Madonna did the video for Material Girl. The inspiration for that video was a scene from Marylin Monroe in Diamonds are a Girl’s Best Friend. Since then I prayed every night that Madonna did not end up like Monroe, gone way too soon. What a surprise she gave me. Through the years, she has been able to transform herself time and again, keeping her spunk, and creating the life she wanted.

I believe that every person that survives all the highs and lows in such a public way and still strives for greatness should be admired. I leave you with that video, the first time I ever paid attention to Madonna. Don’t forget to press the Comment Link and let me know who inspires you.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jayne @ Misplaced City Girl
    Mar 17, 2010 @ 22:20:31

    I don’t know that anyone inspires me…I do my best to inspire myself.

    I think Marilyn Monroe was the most beautiful woman ever born. It is a shame that her life was cut so short.

  2. aviddiva
    Mar 18, 2010 @ 19:26:30

    I applaud that you inspire yourself. That is fantastic. I think every once in a while, we can learn from others or if we don’t feel as great, realize that there is always someone out there with bigger challenges than we do. And then we can take a cue from their stories and think that whatever we are facing is not as bad, and look at what can be accomplished.

    Marylin Monroe was beautiful and talented, and tragic. I had a conversation with my father not too long ago where we were wondering what would have become of her had she not died so young. Considering that her mother had mental challenges, I often wonder if her fear of not ending up like her mother contributed to the struggles she had in life. She is a great reminder that we never know what are others going through and that we should be gentle and kind to everyone, even those who seem to have it all. Thanks for your comments Jayne, love to see other people’s insights.

Leave a Reply

