Inspiration – Dr Mary McLeod Bethune

When I moved to Florida, I took a couple of days to drive around and see where the closest beach was and I ended up in Daytona Beach. Before I made it to the beach, I saw this beautiful college called Bethune Cookman University. I am a naturally curious person and so I started researching who Bethune was. What a great surprise to find out Bethune was a she!

Dr. Mary McLeod Bethune was an African American educator and civil rights activist. She was also adviser to several presidents of the United States. She was the 15th child born of ex-slaves. Like several other examples in the March Inspiration, Dr. Bethune did not let her past determine her path.

To Dr. Bethune, education was really important. That is the inspiration I take from her. To me, it does not matter if your education is official (college) or self taught, the important thing is to never stop learning.

If you want to find out more about this wonderful lady, check out Dr. Bethune or see the biography here.

Dr. Mary Mcleod Bethune

Don’t forget the Comments link below. Let us know who inspires you.

Leave a Reply

