Do not let anyone tell you

what to do, not even me.

I was watching Dr Phil yesterday, Tuesday, because the topic was weight, something that interests me. They had advocates on both sides of the issue. I was a little disapointed that most of the “experts” talking about healthy weight were so “in your face” about it. In fact, one of the ladies on the pannel spent most of the episode defending herself against a particular comment instead of focusing on the issue. The reason why I decided to comment was a fitness trainer with a shirt that said “NO CHUBBIES” and spent most of the episode espousing his venom on people who are overweight.

First of all, it is sad that people might have facts on their side and loose the battle because of the methods they use. Although both people mentioned had some very important information about the obesity problem in America, their attacking behavior made them loose momentum and focus on the wrong things. Both these people have obese relatives and decided to use that as fuel for their mission. The problem is that once you start attacking “fat” people instead of teaching them, the overweight person is not going to listen to you.

Why do I bring this up? There are many reasons why some of us are overweight. Considering that 70% of Americans are overweight or obese, I would be a fool to think that EVERYBODY that reads this blog is skinny. Again, there might be many reasons: hormonal imbalances, psychological issues, laziness, lack of knowledge, medications, boredom or even the fact that some of us tried everything and we just gave up. Be that as it may, I started this year with a resolution about getting healthy, not loosing weight. Why? Because it is not about a number on a scale, it is about my knees not hurting anymore when I go for a long walk. It is about sleeping well and feeling rested when I wake up. It is about feeling good about myself, even if I ate a cookie, because I also had three fruits, three vegetables and plenty of water that day. It is about a choice that YOU have to make. Don’t let anyone, including me, tell you what you have to do.

If you watch my fan page or this blog, I try to include information from several sources, some I agree with and others I don’t. Why? Because that way, I can teach you that there are many sides to each story, and I leave it up to you to decide which one you feel more comfortable with. Then you can make the best decision for you.

You can press the name Dr Phil and once there, press Tuesday (April 6th) to see a preview of the show and get more information. You can leave your comments below about this particular issue. Have a great day.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vikki
    Apr 07, 2010 @ 17:16:50

    Pfffttth on the chubbie haters!!!! It’s what YOU see in the mirror and how YOU feel that really only matters 🙂

  2. aviddiva
    Apr 07, 2010 @ 19:59:54

    Thank you, Vikki. I agree.

Leave a Reply

