The Scars of Experience

This is a conversation between a 15 year old boy and a 40 something diva.

Boy – “you are looking a little wrinkled. Don’t you think you should cover that up with some make up?”
Diva – “Those are the scars of experience. Why would I want to cover those with make up. With age, you learn to be more tolerant and not ask such ignorant questions.”

I was happy to hear those words coming out of my mouth and to know in my heart that I was right. Now don’t take me wrong, I like make up and it so happens that I was wearing make up at the time. The point is that he was looking at my neck, where age is not hiding at all. And the truth is, there are some scars that come with age and experience that I don’t want to cover up. I am proud that I am not twenty anymore. I am proud that I am not a size 6. I love what I look like and who I’ve become. And because I do, I improve those things that I care about, like my health. I am no longer trying to fit a mold that a magazine feels it is right. And you should not either.

When did we give the fashion industry and the magazines the power to determine what was right? The last time I looked, if we don’t spend the money, they don’t sell. It is time to put our foot down and take our power back. It is time to be proud of a few wrinkles and to be a size 10 or 12 or even 16. If you are healthy and happy with who you are, why do you have to change? Why do we have to cover up what God gave us?

And by the way, since when are we supposed to worry about the approval of others? I am not talking about walking around naked or with see through clothing. I am talking about wrinkles and a few pounds. Since when is it a crime to get old? I see women that are 23 having plastic surgery to avoid the wrinkles in their forehead. I understand if you are 50 and you want to refresh yourself. I don’t understand Botox at 23. Let’s set the standards AvidDivas, not let any industry tell us what to do.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Barbara Capo
    Apr 09, 2010 @ 11:27:27

    I’m with you. We’ve got to feel comfortable with ourselves and enjoy all our stages in life. At 50 I feel strong both mentally and physically. Taking care of ourselves is very important ie: eating right, sleeping and excercising as well as taking some time every once in awhile to put on that make-up and maybe unbutton the third button on the shirt and just accept it all for what it is. I also believe that feeling good or “positive” about how you look translates into something so much more than botox or facelifts could ever give us….confidence!

  2. aviddiva
    Apr 09, 2010 @ 22:10:59

    Love it Barbie, you hit the nail in the head. And even though you are gorgeous, it is great when you are just as beautiful on the inside, which you are. Thanks for your comment.

Leave a Reply

