Is Lack of Inspiration Procrastination?

Have you ever had one of those days when you feel that you just don’t feel like it?  I am talking to those of you who are creative by nature or have creative careers or companies.  Ever think that you just can’t come up with one more original idea?  For all those women who have a husband, kids, a career, aging parents, or any other challenges.  This question is directed at you too.  Is your lack of inspiration procrastination?

When I started this new chapter of my life, I promised I would be upfront and honest at all times.  I figured that would be a great way to show others what an average person goes through when they are starting a business.  And so today, I believe is a perfect example of what happens when you are not going at it at 100%.  I am hormonal, the elimination is giving me a headache and I just don’t feel like myself today.  I did not feel like writing or doing any of my usual tasks to promote my blog.  I have not fixed my e-zine.  I have discovered that the easiest way for me to finish any writing is by creating an outline and I have a couple of outlines for the upcoming projects, and yet, I am sitting here not doing much of anything.

Is it procrastination or what?  I would like to lead by example.  This is the opportunity.  I believe that procrastination is a symptom of something else.  Today seems to be going slow.  Procrastination today is a symptom.  I have been able to figure out that it is directly related to the insomnia I’ve been suffering for the past three days.  Now, I believe the insomnia is also a symptom of something else.  So we should dig a little deeper.

The truth is, today I am not feeling very confident.  Certain personal events recently have not gone exactly as planned and I believe this is why my confidence is in the toilet today.  So what can I do to move past this, learn the lesson that my procrastination is teaching me and move on?  This is the first step.  I am writing this now and when I publish it, it will be live exactly as I am feeling it.  This is not a post I wrote a couple of days ago to follow a sequence.  This is what I am going through right now.  I am a big believer that doing a little every day will accomplish a lot in the future.  If I just get through writing today’s blog, that will build up a little confidence.  What is my next step?  I don’t know yet.  It might be nothing for the rest of the day.  I might go take a nap to see if I rebuild some confidence.  Whatever I decide to do, I can feel good about the fact that at least I got one thing done today instead of letting my mood dictate that I do nothing.

What can you learn from my experience?  No matter how bad you feel, whether you are sick or just moody, if you can take one step (no matter how small) to move you forward, that is all you have to do.  It is like getting dressed and going to the gym.  Even if you convince yourself that you will only do 15 minutes.  Some days, that is all you will do.  Other times, once you get there your energy shifts and you do more.  Just be happy with what you did accomplish.  And even in those days when you only get one thing done, at least that one thing is moving you towards your goals.  And tomorrow will be another day.  Make sure tomorrow you take another step, and another.

Make sure to leave your comments below.

Leave a Reply

