Procrastination Enablers – Emails Part 1

This week, I am going to help you sort through one of the most ingenious ways in which we AviddivA’s look busy without really doing much: emails.

What do I mean by that? Face it, there are many things in our email accounts that no longer serve us. We keep receiving emails from a company we are no longer interested in. We subscribed to a magazine we rarely have time to check out anymore. Sound familiar?

My first question to you is: how many email accounts do you have? If you are a woman over 40, you probably have more than one. Right now, I want you to ignore your business account when you tell me how many. Do you have three, four, five, or even more? I confess, I have 12. I used to have 12 until today. I decided to consolidate ALL my emails into two accounts, the business one and one personal. However, I have to be honest, I will still have four. Why? Because I have one which is the one all my family and friends send things to. I have a separate account with my job related things (in case I need a part time or I decide to go consulting) and I have one for my pen name (the one I write fiction with). I take the opportunity to let you know that if you send any correspondence to boricuanlove@yahoo.com or cat-cruz312@hotmail.com….STOP. Those two accounts are closed as of Sunday, July 25, 2010.

My second question to you is: what is your average email count? The smallest account I had, kept 40 emails in the Inbox and had another 85 stashed in different folders. Now, it has zero. I’m not going to tell you how many messages the biggest account has, all I can say is that it is over 2,000. If you take an average, this should be about 12,000 messages between all the accounts. No wonder most of them are erased, unopened. Who has the time?

My assignment for you this week is this:
1) Take stock of how many accounts you have.
2) Open the smallest one and without mercy, sort through your email.
3) If there is something you really want to keep receiving, change your preferences and send it to your main account. Otherwise, unsubscribe from all your mailings.
4) Take the next smallest account and repeat steps from 1 through 3.

I estimate that it is going to take me about a month to deal with all my email accounts and streamline it to only those accounts that I mentioned before. Tomorrow, I will give you some more tips on how to procrastinate less by deciding what to keep and what to trash.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ruby Cantu
    Jul 27, 2010 @ 00:55:12

    I have several, one for freecycling only, another one for family and friends, actually 2 for family and friends, one for junk mail….I just delete a lot and don’t let it stress me…I check them every so often.

  2. admin
    Jul 27, 2010 @ 12:43:44

    Wow, Ruby…you are in the same boat that I was. At one point, I told all my family members that if they MUST send chain emails, to please send them to X email, in order to leave my main email empty.

    It does take time. Think about it this way. If you take the time now and only keep one or two email accounts, in a couple of months your life will be less stressful. I am taking advantage of this opportunity to eliminate a ton of emails I was subscribed to. They were all great, I just don’t have the time or the same interests that I had when I originally requested the info.

    I know you can do it.

Leave a Reply

