Procrastination Enablers – Emails Part 3

After discussing the issues of having many accounts on Monday and the need to trim down your subscriptions in the second, today, we talk maintenance.

You are a woman of a certain age, with certain responsibilities, and now, you are using email as yet another excuse to not get things done. Emails enable you to procrastinate. No AviddivA has to release her power to her email account. Here are a couple of tips to keep in mind.

Tip #1: Every year, when you are writing those resolutions that you may or may not keep, take a little time to do some email maintenance. Decide what you want to keep coming and what no longer serves you. If you are like me, you get most of your email in your cell phone too. That might be an issue. Between Facebook and your email account, you barely have memory on your device. Trim the fat.

Tip #2: Monitor your subscriptions often. I am getting into the habit of revising my accounts every six months. It is amazing that in the last six months, I subscribed to eight new weekly e-zines. I took a good look and realized I rarely read any of them. Some of them are in two different accounts! Enough. If I don’t read it, I press the unsubscribe button.

Tip #3: If your family likes to send you chain emails, and you don’t like receiving those, LET THEM KNOW. I sent a message to all my family and friends explaining that I had no memory in my email accounts for that stuff. I also don’t have Microsoft Office installed, which makes it a little bothersome to get that stuff. I also explained that if they kept sending them, I would identify their messages as spam and that when they had an actual message to send, I would not get it. They don’t send those anymore.

You teach people how to treat you, in life and on the internet. Make sure that you respect their boundaries as well as your own. Don’t subscribe to twenty e-zines if you only have an hour a day to check your emails. Chances are, they will pile up.

Let me know how it goes in the comments section below.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa Middlesworth
    Jul 28, 2010 @ 10:24:49

    Great advise! I think I will go right now and purge. I am not a big fan of the fwd emails. I will most likely delete those right away.
    Thanks for the advise.

  2. admin
    Jul 30, 2010 @ 11:22:05

    It might take a long time, depending on how full your inbox is, the results are worth spending the time now. Just make sure you don’t put something important off because you are going through your email.

  3. admin
    Jul 30, 2010 @ 11:24:58

    Sometimes I feel that is the most impersonal mail of all. Specially if it is from someone you rarely ever speak to.
    The only time I read those is if they come from someone who is very close to me. Then I know they think I will enjoy it.
    Get to it and let us know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

