Procrastination Enablers: Calorie Counting Part 2

For all those beautiful AviddivA’s whose weight is an issue, I share your frustration with calorie counting. It does not work. I will take it one step further: I think counting calories is part of the problem. According to the Law of Attraction, you get whatever you focus on. Therefore, if you are so obsessed with food and the numbers associated with it, then you get more of that.

The most frustrating part is trying to figure out portion sizes and how many calories each meal contains. For my own health and well-being, I got rid of my microwave and started cooking most of our meals. I just taste as I go. Then, I use a smaller plate for my serving. I am not going to weight and measure every little thing (again with the obsession of counting). I have an idea visually and I eat a little of everything.

In the interest of fairness, I give you a possible solution. If you must absolutely keep track of your calories, or have an idea, you can check Sparkspeople and/or LiveStrong Membership for both is free. They share recipes, exercises, motivation and more. I use Sparks and I have friends who use LiveStrong. When I use Sparks, I might not count calories every day, I might not even be accurate. However, I have an idea of how much I am consuming and how many calories I am burning. When in doubt, I round up. If I think I have three ounces of chicken, I will write four. Maybe you have the patience to have exact weights and measures. The important thing is that you do what is comfortable for you.

Tomorrow I will share with you the importance of this particular type of procrastination. In the meantime, go ahead and leave your comments below.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ja Orga
    Aug 10, 2010 @ 13:27:03

    I totally “get” where you are coming from; however, I struggle with my attempts at losing weight and I find that when I document my calories, I am amazed at what I am truly eating. It’s a tool I’m finding I need to keep myself on track, otherwise, I’m definitely not losing weight. I love the Livestrong program – I just signed up for it this week. The visuals are wonderful. Again, it’s simply a tool for my own awareness. I know I’m not totally accurate and I’m not obsessive about it. It’s a start though. Hopefully, with a few months of this, I’ll have a handle on portion sizes and how many calories I am eating. I’m believing it will work!

  2. admin
    Aug 10, 2010 @ 23:48:06

    Ja

    You bring up an important point that I usually comment about all the time: each person is different and if you find something that works for you, that is excellent. My hubby started using Livestrong and he would call me really excited because he found our dishes (our families are puertorrican, I am, he was born here) on the calorie counter section. He absolutely loves it.

    This is why I mentioned both programs. I’m not counting calories, and yet, every once in a while I will track for a week to see that I am doing well. In the end, cutting soda, white bread and white rice out of my regular meals has given me a four pound deficit without exercise that I am very happy with. Keep us posted on how this is working for you.

Leave a Reply

