Procrastination Enabler: Calorie Counting Part 3

Why is this important? Because your life is important. I personally don’t believe in calorie counting. I know other people swear by it and that is fine too.

Weight issues are in our heads, not our stomachs. The weight problems are a symptom of something else and until you fix that, all the calorie counting in the world is not going to help you. Go ahead and work on the issues that are keeping you from taking care of yourself first.

AviddivA, you are a woman over 40 and it is time to put your health first. This is your time. Stop blaming everything and everyone else. Take care of yourself and work on you now. We are here every step of the way. Good luck and let us know how you are doing by commenting below.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. admin
    Aug 11, 2010 @ 11:55:04

    Cynthia Schmidt made the next comment on Fabulously 40 and gave me permission to post it here:

    Good information on your blog. One trick to stop counting the calories and still keep portions in check is using shapes to measure portions; a deck of cards for any protein serving, your clenched fist for servings of starch, both hands cupped together for vegetables, half of most pieces of fruit, 1/4 of things like bagels and muffins, your thumb for solid fats like butter, cream cheese, peanut butter, mashed avocado.

    I have dishes and plates I use for most of my meals that I know exactly just how much they hold. I have a small bowl I use for any type of pasta. Filling it to the top is exactly a 2 ounce serving. I have a little pyrex bowl I use for cereal which holds a cup. I have a ladle I use for soups that holds just a cup when it’s full. I don’t even have to think about it anymore unless I go out to eat.

Leave a Reply

