Sunshines and Storm Fronts

I have always compared life to the weather report.  In fact, I think I read someone making a similar analogy a long time ago.  This week was the perfect example for me.  I had some sunshine and today, a storm front appeared.  How you deal with things makes the difference between a storm front and a tsunami.

I was really happy because I won a prize that will make the business start up a lot easier.  I was excited to be invited to a meeting with my local Chamber of Commerce.  Yesterday was the day.  I had a great time and loved the energy in the room.  The people in the Chamber were all very energetic, warm and welcoming.  I like being surrounded by people that concentrate on good things, they look forward to what is happening now and what is coming.  It was fun and I loved being around that energy.

Today was a completely different story.  I started the day with a meeting that made me question my motivation.  I have always believed that there is more to life than making money.  The only jobs that I truly enjoyed (when I worked for others) were those where I worked in non-profits.  My job was the average office work.  It was for a college.  I had that privilege twice in my life, once in Maryland and once in Puerto Rico.  It was the most rewarding times in my life because I contributed to the education of others, even if my job was not directly related to their achievement.  In my eyes, I helped thousands of students to make that journey a little easier.   Now, I have the opportunity to do this in my own company as a coach and I want this company to succeed.

The reason why I am giving you my example is because I hope that you learn from my experience.  Some times, people are not going to get what you are doing.  Some days, people are going to think you are nuts.  If you truly believe in everything you are doing, keep going no matter what.  Today was a test for me.  I had a meeting where I was told my heart was in the right place but I had a very slim chance of making it.  After that meeting, I had a phone meeting with a person that is testing one of my products.  After hearing her excitement and her progress, I knew that even if I don’t ever make a dime, this is what I am supposed to be doing.  I cannot let anything or anyone stop me from helping as many people as possible.

What about you?  What big dream is lurking in the shadows because those around you think you will not succeed?  Keep this one thing in mind, always.  Your measure of success is not the same as anyone else’s.  Besides, what would you rather do?  Give 100% and fail and learn from your mistakes and go at it again?  Or would you rather sit by the sidelines and spend your whole life thinking what if?  It is up to you.  I believe in you.  Do you believe in you?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa Bull
    Sep 18, 2010 @ 22:45:49

    You are awesome in what you have shared today. It is up to me.
    I found you on BraveHeart Women’s Community and read your post
    and then i followed you Here…Thank you for Shining in my Life.
    Keep Shining your Beauty for all to see…Lisa

  2. admin
    Sep 19, 2010 @ 22:55:43

    Lisa, you have made my day.
    Thank you for following me here. I have always believed that the message is the most important thing. Some times, it comes with perks. Other times, it comes with great sacrifice. When I hear someone is motivated by what we write, I get that feeling in my heart that what we do here is the right thing. In the end, that is all that matters. Thank you very much for your comment.

Leave a Reply

