Dress Your Age or Not

Today, I give you something to think about.  Are you supposed to dress your age?  Should it really matter that you are over 40 so you should not wear a bikini or a short skirt?

Is it more important to dress based on your body type and the occasion?  If you are skinny then everything fits.  If you are a little rounder, the shorts do not look as good.  If you are going out with your girlfriends, you should dress more casual.  If you are going to a business meeting, maybe a suit or a nice pair of pants and a beautiful blouse are the way to go.

I want to hear from you.  Should you dress for your age or for your size?  What do you think?  Leave your comments below.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Caren
    Sep 27, 2010 @ 12:48:08

    Sure dress for your body. But if when we ask ourselves “should I wear this, does it make me look (fill in the blank, old, young, fat, skinny) does my butt look big or does it show too much? We already know the answer or we wouldn’t have asked the question.

    It never hurts to err on the slightly safe side. I’m still a little scarred by my college experience when I showed up for an internship at an insurance company (didn’t realize how ultra conservative that environment was) in my new best outfit . It was a bright blue and white rather informal pantsuit. I glowed compared to all the gray suits in the cafeteria. I’m wincing just writing this.

    I’m still trendy, but now aware!

  2. admin
    Sep 27, 2010 @ 13:35:48

    Caren, I find your comments very interesting. I have a question for you. Since you did not tell me if you got the internship or not and you did say you are trendy, the question is: would that job fit your personality and make you happy? The reason why I ask is because sometimes we dress a certain way to impress someone and we don’t take into consideration how their acceptance will affect us.

    For example: you are happy go lucky and you go to a job interview with a stuffy, conservative office. You get the job based on the impression you made during the interview. You spend the next two years working for some really nice people, bored out of your mind. I would love to see your answer.

  3. Sheila
    Sep 28, 2010 @ 03:20:14

    I have never dressed “for my age.” I dress the same way I did when I was younger…..and if I have to wear business attire, I dress it up with a pin–something alittle colorful……..dragonfly, spider, butterfly. I wear alot of long flowy dresses….I dress like my grandmother did. I never liked tight fitting clothes…..I guess jeans would be the exception. Dressing for your size, seems to be a “good standard.” At any size, the constant tugging at a “short skirt or dress,” always leaves me wondering…..is she really comfortable in that get up? or does it come with wearing something really short? Strangest thing I ever saw was a g-string vicariously taking center stage as she bent down to go through a bin of buy one get one free panties!
    I pay more attention to someone’s posture…..but I guess that comes with being a bodyworker!

  4. Jeanine Byers Hoag
    Sep 28, 2010 @ 16:58:53

    I just recently took the dressing your truth online course so right now, the most important thing to me is dressing for my type! But having said that, there are somethings I might not wear now that younger women would.

    I think shorter skirts or dresses can still be okay, but for my body, they need to be knee-length. So I can’t ignore what has happened to my body over time.

    Therefore, no more bikinis for me and probably, no shorts, either. If I were thin, and hadn’t experienced the ravages of time, I might wear both. I don’t know, since I have had this body for so long and neither has been an option.

    I guess the main thing for me about dressing for my age is that I don’t have any need to “dress younger” as if to hide the fact that I am over 40. But if something looked good on me and I liked it, I would probably wear it.

    Jeanine

  5. admin
    Sep 28, 2010 @ 18:02:35

    Carol Tuttle’s Dressing Your Truth! I am taking a dollar out every time we go out so that I can get it for my birthday (in November). I am a big fan and although I don’t agree with some of the dressing choices, I believe she is on to something. I also believe that each person has a type that is reflected in our features, etc. I hope you do well with that.

    I do like what you say about not needing to dress younger. I can tell you, even if I got rid of 100 pounds tomorrow, you will never catch me with a pair of shorts with lettering in my behind. I also believe that there are many trends that are considered younger that I don’t believe are really only for younger people, starting with a bikini. I believe that you should wear what makes you happy and if you have the body for a bikini, then go for it.

    Thanks for sharing your point of view, Jeanine

  6. Jeanine Byers Hoag
    Sep 30, 2010 @ 15:34:21

    Hey, let me know which type you turn out to be! I have been playing around with guessing my family members and friends, but it is still a bit confusing. Fascinating, though!

    And hey, I’m with you on wearing a word on my behind.

    But you know, when “juicy” first came out, I was envious because I didn’t feel “sexy” enough to get away with it. Now, I don’t feel like I want to share how sexy I am with the world. And would like to find other ways to say, “I got it going on!” than a word on my butt.

    At first glance, though, all those years ago, it seemed like it would be a powerful in-your-face kind of statement to make. And I guess if someone needs to make that kind of statement, I support them in experimenting with what makes them feel empowered. Even if it means trying the “juicy” thing.

    Maybe it’s as we get older that we feel more empowered on the inside and have less need to add it to ourselves from the outside.

    Jeanine

  7. admin
    Sep 30, 2010 @ 22:41:26

    My new favorite statement “As we get older we feel more empowered on the inside and have less need to add it to ourselves from the outside”. Wise words indeed.
    I will definitely let you know when I get the program.
    As far as the juicy thing, my trick is silly. I wear really sexy underwear. Nobody knows it and I feel like I have a really great secret nobody else knows about. It might sound silly and yet, some times the silliest little things give us the biggest pleasures.

Leave a Reply

