Lessons Learned 3

Lesson #3:  mental fatigue is just as bad as physical tiredness.  Both are just as important and necessary for the success of a company.

I have been struggling lately with moving my business forward.  I was just telling my partner today that I was finding it difficult to move forward and I did not know why.

As I look into my past to fix my future, I remembered something.  When my boss stated in that fateful conversation that the staff worked more than I did and they deserved to take more breaks, I was confused and devastated.  In time, I realized my boss had fallen victim to the oldest problem in business.  Just because one job requires physical stress and the other takes mental dexterity does not make one harder or more important than the other.  And just to help you a little with this story, if I did not keep my eye on the computers that made the system work, they would not have work to do half the time.

Even more important, even though I had a set workday, I went to work two hours earlier every day to make sure everything was set when the staff came to work.  I was a workaholic.  I loved my job and I did not mind pouring my heart and soul into it.

Some days I wonder if the reason why I’m having this struggle to get going is fear that I will go back to the days when I did not have a life.  I guess we will have to wait and see.

What do you think is stopping you from getting your goals?  Leave me a comment below.

Leave a Reply

