Challenges Big and Small

Have you ever felt sick and considered not going to work? Have you ever planned your whole week only to wake up on Monday and your car breaks down? How do you deal with these challenges? Do you persist on your endeavors or do you feel this is a sign from the heavens and give up?

For the last week, I had to deal with knee pain. I’ve had trouble with my right knee for 30 years, on and off. The last time I had a doctor check it, he said he could operate but I would go through the same thing in three to five years. Back then, I would get pain every three to five years. I said “No, thank you” and kept going. This week, the pain was different.

It all came to a head on Sunday when, the pain was so bad that I could not sit, lay down, stand up or walk without feeling like somebody was stabbing me from inside the leg. A little research on the internet took me to discover that the pain I had just described to a family member over the phone, was a textbook definition of runner’s knee. The treatment: ice for 20 minutes four times a day, take an anti-inflammatory, knee brace, elevate the knee and those thingies that you buy to put on your shoes. Since necessity is the mother of invention, I grabbed the first plastic bag I found, used a small towel to position it on my knee. Then I put my knee sleeve on when I finished with the ice. My leg is elevated and as much as I hate taking medications, I am taking an anti-inflammatory every six hours.

Why am I telling you all that? What does this have to do with having plans and all I said in the beginning? Because today, I was supposed to leave my house in the early morning hours to run a series of errands and the advice given to me included “STAY OFF THE LEG FOR 24 TO 48 HOURS”. So as I write this to you, I am sitting in my sofa, with my leg elevated, writing in my laptop while my daughter is out running errands.

Things are going to happen, challenges big and small. It is not the challenge that is the problem. It is how you choose to tackle it that may be a problem or a solution to your problem. You can change your plans to work around your situation, delegate some tasks, work on other things while you wait for your problem to be solved. If you just sit there and do nothing, then you loose. Take one step forward every day. You will accomplish more than most people.

If you want to share how you tackle your challenges, leave a comment on the section below. Tell us how you deal with challenges. We are reading all your comments.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jeanine Byers Hoag
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 12:03:36

    I can totally relate to what you are describing! I hope you feel better soon, by the way.

    My “pain” for nearly a week now has been severe allergies. Usually, they are manageable but as the seasons change they sometimes flair up and become sinusitis or other irritating, sidelining conditions. As a result, my plans change, too!

    I play it by ear as to how much I decide to do. The other day, I kept staring at the computer. Could hardly think straight. So I gave up on work for that day.

    This morning, I am still not feeling good but have been able to get a couple of blog posts done. On the other hand, my son and I will miss this afternoon’s homeschooling ballroom dance class.

    I agree with you, though, that challenges will come, and what matters most is the way we respond.

    Jeanine

  2. Trackback: Tweets that mention AviddivA - Procrastination as a Tool ~ Challenges Big and Small -- Topsy.com
  3. admin
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 13:12:35

    Jeanine, I don’t have allergies but every once in a while, I get massive sinus headache. I understand completely. I’ve been lucky that since I moved to Florida I did not experience any really bad ones.

    Thank you for wishing me well. The only thing I don’t like is drinking the medication because I usually don’t and so, my stomach is not used to it. Other than that, I am staying home today. I feel better and I want to go for a walk and I know if I do, I am going to regret it later.

    It is also interesting how much you learn about patience and listening to your body when you go through stuff like this. Lately I’ve noticed how much people are back on the “no pain, no gain” thing. I guess I’m a “lean into it” kind of girl. I’d rather be the tortoise and not the hare.

    Sorry that you guys are going to miss the ballroom dance class. And I hope you feel better.

Leave a Reply

