Some Days You Should Go Back to Bed

As many of you know, last week I had a little issue that inspired me to comment on going back to bed. In a nutshell, I went through a lot of trouble to make an appointment, only to find out that appointment was the day before. Shocker!!! As the day kept going, I saw an accident on the road, the buses were late, I forgot to eat breakfast and got sick on whatever I ate, etc.

Most times, every coach and motivational speaker will tell you that you should keep going, break through barriers and move on. My advice to you is simple: there will be days when you should just go back home, curl in bed with a good book and start all over the next day.

Is my advice contradictory to what the gurus say? Not exactly. Notice that I said that you should start again the next day. This is the key. Some times, our best plans may not work out or the day might just go south, no matter how positive and empowered you feel. Those are the days when it is important to take a step back, regroup and the next day you will have renewed energy. I am asking you to stop, take a break and then go on.

What do you think? Let me know in the comments section below.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kim Reddington
    Nov 15, 2010 @ 13:49:28

    Roxana,

    I love how you give us permission to just go home, relax and start over the next day. Sometimes I am just having one of those days. I often wish I could just skip everything that day, climb into bed with a good book and start fresh in the morning. Thank you for letting me know that is ok.

  2. admin
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 21:09:17

    I think some times we want to be all things to all people and we want to accomplish many things. We get signals to slow down, and maybe, even stop. We don’t want to: we have so much to do. All I can say is that some days you can keep going and some days it is good to let it go, relax and tomorrow will be another day. Thanks for sharing Kim.

Leave a Reply

